Label check
Pure Encapsulations Magnesium Glycinate vs. Electric Tiger: Label Check
Pure Encapsulations prints 120 mg of magnesium per capsule but not the glycinate weight, so the ratio check that works on our label can't run on theirs. Here's what both labels do show.
We make Electric Tiger Magnesium Glycinate, which competes with the product compared here. Every figure about Pure Encapsulations Magnesium (glycinate) is read from its own site or from label copy as published by retailers, checked on 26 September 2026, and linked below. If something has changed, tell us and we will update it. Pure Encapsulations is a trademark of its owner; Electric Tiger is not affiliated with Pure Encapsulations.
The short answer: Pure Encapsulations' label lists 120 mg of magnesium per capsule as magnesium glycinate, but it doesn't print the glycinate weight, so the magnesium-to-glycinate ratio can't be checked from this label. Ours lists 275 mg of magnesium from 2,500 mg of magnesium glycinate — an 11% ratio, under the 14% chemical ceiling. Pure Encapsulations' 90-capsule bottle is $27.00 on its site ($24.30 on subscription); ours is as low as $16.31 a bottle on subscription.
The two labels, side by side
| Pure Encapsulations Magnesium | Electric Tiger Magnesium Glycinate | |
|---|---|---|
| Serving size | 1 capsule | 3 capsules |
| Servings per bottle | 90 | 30 |
| Magnesium per serving | 120 mg | 275 mg |
| % Daily Value | Not stated | 65% |
| Magnesium glycinate per serving | Not stated on the label | 2,500 mg |
| Magnesium ÷ glycinate | Can't be checked — compound weight not printed | 11% |
| Other ingredients | Vegetarian capsule (cellulose, water), ascorbyl palmitate | Hypromellose (capsule), magnesium stearate, silicon dioxide, rice flour |
| Certifications printed | GFCO Certified Gluten-Free, Vegan | None held |
| Price (90-capsule bottle) | $27.00 on its site ($24.30 on subscription) | As low as $16.31 a bottle on subscription |
| Price per 100 mg magnesium | about $0.23 (subscription) | about $0.20 |
Why the ratio can't be checked on this label
Magnesium glycinate is one magnesium atom bound to two molecules of the amino acid glycine. Its formula is C4H8MgN2O4, molecular weight 172.42, and the magnesium atom weighs 24.3 of that — so magnesium is at most about 14.1% of magnesium glycinate by weight. Dividing a label's magnesium by its glycinate weight tells you whether all of that magnesium could plausibly be coming from glycinate alone. Pure Encapsulations' label states the magnesium (120 mg) but not the glycinate weight it came from, so that division isn't possible from what's printed. Ours states both: 275 mg of magnesium from 2,500 mg of magnesium glycinate, an 11% ratio, under the ceiling.
Where each label does better
Pure Encapsulations packs more magnesium into a single capsule (120 mg in one capsule versus about 92 mg per capsule in ours), and carries GFCO Certified Gluten-Free and Vegan claims on its label. It also sells a 360-capsule bottle; at $87.00 ($78.30 on subscription, 10% off), that works out to about $0.18 per 100 mg of magnesium — cheaper than our roughly $0.20. We hold no third-party certification on this product, and our smallest bottle is priced higher per 100 mg than that largest Pure Encapsulations size.
How to check any magnesium label
- Find the row that names magnesium on its own. That amount is the magnesium.
- Find the compound in brackets and its weight, if the label gives one.
- Divide the first by the second. For magnesium glycinate, expect about 14% or a little less. If the label doesn't print the compound weight, this step stops here.
- Compare prices on magnesium, not bottles: our magnesium page has a calculator for price per 100 mg.
Sources
- Pure Encapsulations Magnesium (glycinate) label, badges and pricing: pureforyou.com. Checked 26 September 2026.
- Magnesium glycinate, C4H8MgN2O4, 172.42 g/mol: PubChem CID 84645.
- Electric Tiger Magnesium Glycinate Supplement Facts: product page.
- Costello, R. et al. "Interpreting the Evidence to Guide Magnesium Supplement Dosing." Nutrients, 2023. PMID 37487817.
*These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.
Sources
- Perspective: Call for Re-evaluation of the Tolerable Upper Intake Level for Magnesium Supplementation in Adults In 7 of 10 trials between 128 and 1,200 mg a day, magnesium caused no more diarrhea than the comparison.
*These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.