Guide
How to choose a good lion's mane
No lion's mane supplement has been shown best. A checklist for reading any label, with ours measured against it, including where it falls short.
There is no single best lion's mane supplement, because no trial has shown that any product does anything specific. Choose on what a label lets you check: which part of the mushroom, the split, what the mycelium grew on, the amount, how the standardization was measured, and the price per serving.
A checklist you can use on any label
- Which part of the mushroom? Fruiting body, mycelium or both. If both, a good label gives the proportion. See what is lion's mane for what the words mean.
- What did the mycelium grow on? Mycelium grown on grain and harvested with it contains the grain. Trade commentary says that can mean a lot of starch. We found no peer-reviewed comparison, so treat this as a question to ask, not a percentage.
- Powder or extract? A powder is the dried mushroom; an extract is concentrated, and a "10:1" is not equal to the same weight of powder. Compare milligrams only within the same form.
- What is "standardized" to, and how was it measured? "Polysaccharides" includes beta-glucans but also starch and other carbohydrates. A beta-glucan figure with a stated method is more specific than a polysaccharide percentage without one. Some labels print hericenone or erinacine figures; those are different compounds again.
- Amount per serving against the trials. The healthy-adult trials used 1.8 g a day, a single 3 g dose of a 10:1 extract, and 10 g a day in muffins (see lion's mane dosage). A 1 g serving is below all of them, and no trial has shown what any capsule dose does.
- Other ingredients. Capsule material, fillers and flow agents; whether it is a single ingredient or a blend with other things at undisclosed amounts.
- Price per serving, not per bottle. Divide the bottle price by the servings, and check what a serving is (two capsules or four).
- Testing. Look for a certificate of analysis you can read: identity, heavy metals, and the assay behind any standardization. A statement that a product is "tested" without a document you can read tells you little.
- Claims. Be wary of a label or page that promises sharper thinking, memory or nerve repair. The trials do not support those at capsule doses; see what the research does and doesn't show.
How our label measures up
Lion's Mane Mushroom against that list, including where it falls short:
| Criterion | Our label | Verdict |
|---|---|---|
| Part of mushroom | Fruiting body and mycelium powder | Stated |
| Split between the two | Not stated | Falls short |
| What the mycelium grew on | Not stated | Falls short |
| Powder or extract | Powder, not an extract | Stated |
| Standardization | 40% polysaccharides (400 mg), method not stated; no beta-glucan figure | Partly: the number is printed, the measurement is not |
| Amount | 1,000 mg per two capsules; trials used 1.8 g to 10 g a day | Below the trial doses; no trial tested it |
| Other ingredients | Pullulan capsule, water, organic pea starch | Stated; single active |
| Price per serving | As low as $18.23 a bottle on subscription, 30 servings, about $0.61 a serving | Calculable from the label |
| Testing | We do not have a certificate of analysis on file to publish for this product | Falls short |
The ingredient name begins "Organic". We do not display an organic certification seal or certificate for this product, so we leave it at what the label says. If any of the "not stated" items matter to you, they are the questions to put to any seller, ours included.
Questions people ask
Which lion's mane supplement should I choose?
None has been shown to outperform another, and no trial compares brands. The checklist above is the fairest way to sort them: a product that tells you the part used, the split, the substrate and how it was measured has told you more than one that does not.
Which lion's mane brand should I pick?
We do not rank brands here; a ranking would need testing we have not done. Use the criteria above and compare labels directly.
Which form should I pick: powder, capsules, gummies, tincture or coffee?
Each form changes the amount and the evidence. Powder and capsules are the easiest to compare by milligrams. Gummies, tinctures and coffees often carry small or undisclosed amounts, so apply the same checklist: amount per serving, part used, and other ingredients. The trials used none of these forms except powder and extracts.
Where can I buy lion's mane, and are there reviews?
You can buy ours on its product page, as low as $18.23 a bottle on subscription. We do not publish review counts or ratings for it here. For any seller, look for a readable label and a certificate of analysis rather than star ratings.
What does quality mean for lion's mane?
Quality here means identity (the right species and part), purity (contaminants tested) and a measured standardization. Without a certificate of analysis you cannot verify any of the three.
Is there a lion's mane recipe, and how do you cook it?
Fresh lion's mane is cooked like other mushrooms, often sliced or torn and browned in a pan. A recipe is outside what we cover; if you cook it, the trials do not tell us a culinary amount.
Sources
- Acute effects of a standardised extract of Hericium erinaceus (Lion's Mane mushroom) on cognition and mood in healthy younger adults: a double-blind randomised placebo-controlled study In 18 healthy young adults, one 3 g dose of a 10:1 lion's mane fruiting-body extract did not change overall thinking or mood scores at 90 minutes.
- The Acute and Chronic Effects of Lion's Mane Mushroom Supplementation on Cognitive Function, Stress and Mood in Young Adults: A Double-Blind, Parallel Groups, Pilot Study In a small pilot study of 41 healthy adults, a single 1.8 g dose of lion's mane improved performance on one cognitive test, and 28 days of daily use showed a stress-reduction trend that fell just short of statistical significance; the study's own authors called the results tentative.
- Four Weeks of Hericium erinaceus Supplementation Does Not Impact Markers of Metabolic Flexibility or Cognition In 24 college-age adults, 10 g a day of lion's mane in muffins for 4 weeks did not change metabolic or thinking measures.
*These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.